Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Two very basic questions before I start

• earlofwessex
  • earlofwessex's Avatar Topic Author
More
5 years 7 months ago #172211 by earlofwessex
Two very basic questions before I start was created by earlofwessex
I am working on an important (to me) academic project and need to be sure of three things before I invest my time in learning how to use a survey program. I apologize if I could have found the answers in the documentation. I did look, but I am not very technical and so don't know professional jargon well enough to be sure I have an answer.

1. Do academics use LimeSurvey for their research projects?

2. I have to give participants two surveys and I anticipate that many more will take the first than the second, but I can only use surveys by people who completed both. I must be able to filter out the first surveys that are not accompanied by a second. Can I do this?

What would happen if a participant took the surveys on different machines or if they cleaned their comp of cookies and so forth, or started using an IP blocker? I don't anticipate having so many completed second surveys that I could not go through the first list manually and selecting the ones that have a corresponding second survey.

3. Can I finely sort the data? For example, can I sort out those who gave response "d" on question 3 to see what their response was to question 7?

Thank you so much for your help.
The topic has been locked.
  • earlofwessex
More
5 years 7 months ago #172212 by earlofwessex
Replied by earlofwessex on topic Two very basic questions before I start
Has this has ended up in the wrong forum? If it is, I'm sorry.
  • Joffm
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
5 years 7 months ago - 5 years 7 months ago #172213 by Joffm
Replied by Joffm on topic Two very basic questions before I start
Hi,

1. Do academics use LimeSurvey for their research projects?