Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Will PHP reliance change

• gorp
  • gorp's Avatar Topic Author
More
5 years 5 months ago #174783 by gorp
Will PHP reliance change was created by gorp
Hi,
I am not an expert in coding/programming at all; but I've heard from several sources that PHP is on its way out and that PHP, in a near future (2 years or so?), will not be well supported and that it will involve different security risks to use etc.

What is the Limesurvey community's thoughts about this?

Will the Limesurvey code eventually be changed to another programming language; and in that case which one might that be?

Thoughts about these questions are much appreciated.
Kind Regards,
Gorp
The topic has been locked.
More
5 years 5 months ago #174791 by jelo
Replied by jelo on topic Will PHP reliance change

gorp wrote: but I've heard from several sources that PHP is on its way out and that PHP, in a near future (2 years or so?), will not be well supported and that it will involve different security risks to use etc.

What sources? There is a big gap between what developers want to use and what is getting deployed ;-)

The programming languages for server side web development have changed over time.
Before PHP perl was the lingua franca for web. PHP was born in 1995 and has changed over time.
We have seen ColdFusion, ASP.NET, Java etc. The last big impact on the web programming language scene was ruby on rails (as a framework for the language ruby, which was also born in 1995). Python and Go are also used for web-applications.

The advantage of PHP was never the language itself (you will always find a "better" concept implementation in other languages), but the deployment on a webserver itself. The ease of use and the stability of running a php application in combination with a webserver is still unmatched.