Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Option 'other' - data code and piping into question text

• blienemann
  • blienemann's Avatar Topic Author
More
2 years 11 months ago #214459 by blienemann
Hi, 

I'm using LimeSurvey Version 3.25.7. I'm new to LimeSurvey and am having a couple issues with the "Option 'Other'" response. 
  1. When I use "Option 'Other'" in a radio list question, it exports the code as "-oth-" in the dataset and then creates a new variable with the write-in response. How can I change "-oth-" to a numerical code of my choosing for the original variable (i.e., I'd like to assign different numerical codes to "Other" dependent on each question)? 
  2. I piped the response from an earlier radio list question using {Qcode1.shown} into the text of future questions, however, when a respondent selects the "Option 'Other'" response in Qcode1 it pipes "-oth-" into Qcode2 question text rather than what was written in the open field for "Option 'Other'" in Qcode1. How can I get it so that it shows the values of the answers (like Qcode.shown) does, but will show the write-in response if the "Option 'Other'" response is chosen?
    1. Specifically, in the Question box for Cig2 I have typed "Does your {Cig1.shown} smoke cigarettes?" Cig1 and Cig2 are radio list questions. {Cig1.shown} works for piping all answers into Cig2 (e.g., Does your Father smoke cigarettes?) except for when the "Option 'Other'" is selected in Cig1 (e.g., Does your -oth- smoke cigarettes?). 
Thanks! 
The topic has been locked.
More
2 years 11 months ago #214460 by jelo
Try Cig1_other.shown to access the "other content".

You can find more infos about certain questiontypes here:
manual.limesurvey.org/Expression_Manager#Qcode_Variable_Naming

The meaning of the word "stable" for users
www.limesurvey.org/forum/development/117...ord-stable-for-users
  • blienemann
More
2 years 11 months ago #214462 by blienemann