Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Pulling responses from previous survey question into ranking question

• acrall
  • acrall's Avatar Topic Author
More
3 years 8 months ago #203249 by acrall
I am trying to pull survey responses from one question into a ranking question and it's unclear what needs to be written into the expression manager and conditions settings for this to work. I've tried looking at the manual and searched this forum, but I'm a novice coder and having issues finding the information I need to do this. Here is the example:

Question 1 (type: multiple choice): Which groups are you interested in joining? Select all that apply.
Choices for Question 1: Group 1, Group 2, Group 3, Group 4, Group 5

Condition for Question 2: If the respondent selects more than one group (Groups 2-4 for the example), they will then be shown a ranking question asking them to rank from the responses they selected.

Question 2 (type: ranking): Please rank the groups you selected based on your interest in joining.
Choices for Question 2: Group 2, Group 3, Group 4
The topic has been locked.
  • tammo
  • Official LimeSurvey Partner
More
3 years 8 months ago - 3 years 8 months ago #203251 by tammo
Hi, please see the attached example.

The trick is to refer to the MC (multiple choice) question with an array filter that refers to exactly the same subquestion codes as there are in the ranking questions.

Furthermore you make the raking question appear only when the number of answers in the MC question is more than 1. That is done using an expression script and placed in the relevance formula of the ranking question.

The mccount question (actually an equation) is to show how to count the number of answered subquestions.

Greetings from The Netherlands,

Tammo

Tammo ter Hark at Respondage
For Limesurvey reporting, education and customized themes
respondage.nl
Last edit: 3 years 8 months ago by tammo.