Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

setting data for hidden variables

• naz1mb20
  • naz1mb20's Avatar Topic Author
More
2 weeks 6 days ago #266693 by naz1mb20
setting data for hidden variables was created by naz1mb20
Please help us help you and fill where relevant:
LimeSurvey version: 6.6.2
Own server or LimeSurvey Cloud: Cloud
Survey theme/template: Default/ inherited
==================
I am new to LimeSurvey and have mostly used ConfirmIt and especially Decipher in my career. I need some help with what I think is a very basic concept (hidden or dummy variables and setting their data based on other questions).

Here is my example for a start
Q1
Open Numeric
What is your age?

dQ1
Hidden single choice question (do not show to the respondent, this will get prefilled)
0-17
18-24
25-34
35-44
45-54
55-64
65+

So in Decipher I would loop over the answers in dQ1, match that age range with the value provided in 'Q1' and set that datapoint if it matches. I can't seem to find any examples of this on the KB or forums? I've seen something about ExpressionScript which seems very long winded imo (unless im misunderstanding it's power)? How would I set data for a grid type question like that? If somebody can point me in the write direction with this age example that would be ever so useful. I would much rather not have type up seperate 'IF' statements that go through each possible value as that would get very time consuming.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• holch
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
2 weeks 6 days ago - 2 weeks 6 days ago #266708 by holch
Replied by holch on topic setting data for hidden variables
I don't know how Conformit does it, but I expect also some kind of scripting.

I've seen something about ExpressionScript which seems very long winded imo (unless im misunderstanding it's power)?