Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Embedded video doesn't show + can there be a question with no answer option

• Hersis
  • Hersis's Avatar Topic Author
More
2 years 9 months ago - 2 years 9 months ago #218191 by Hersis
Hello. :)

I am a student who would like to do some research with the help of LimeSurvey (it's the only platform available at my university).

First of, in my research I have to show videos to the subjects. These videos contain a few words that have to be shown for a specific time period. These videos should not be re-watched by the subjects. That's why I'm wondering if there is any type of question (or sth other maybe?) in the LimeSurvey that allows to view videos, can be time-limited and automatically change to the 1st question in my test after that time is up.
I tried to put those videos in a question, but it doesn't look good, cause there are always some "choose option" or "write answer here" visible. And I don't want subjects to answer me at this point - only to watch video. Is there any way to do this?

The other problem I'm encountering is that whatever I try, no video I put in a question is visible when I click "preview survey/question group/question".
I can put the video (mp4) into the LimeSurvey files and when I upload it into a question it works fine in the editor, but never shows up in the preview.
Similar thing happens when I try to put an embedded video from YT. But this time only a frame is visible in the editor - no video content that should be there. In the preview there is nothing visible at all.

Please note, that I have zero knowledge about coding. I tried to follow the instructions I found on this forum (e.g.:  forums.limesurvey.org/forum/can-i-do-thi...videos-in-limesurvey ) but to no avail.
Since I have little time to complete my research, I would be very grateful for any advice or tips you could offer.

LimeSurey Version 3.22.12+200406