Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Random number generator - no repeated numbers

• user18
  • user18's Avatar Topic Author
More
2 years 8 months ago #217737 by user18
Hi everyone. I am new to LimeSurvey and do not have much coding experience.

I am trying to modify the following code used on another forum post to create 10 (min 1 max 10) randomly generated numbers that do not repeat. This is the original blog post:  forums.limesurvey.org/forum/can-i-do-thi...ame-randnumber-twice . I was able to edit the code so that more than 2 random numbers are generated, but how can I edit the if statement so that none of the additional numbers repeat?

The topic has been locked.
  • tpartner
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
2 years 8 months ago #217739 by tpartner
Replied by tpartner on topic Random number generator - no repeated numbers
There should be no repeats, the if statement only checks if the inputs are already populated.

How many inputs do you have? What is your code?

Cheers,
Tony Partner

Solutions, code and workarounds presented in these forums are given without any warranty, implied or otherwise.
  • user18
More
2 years 8 months ago #217740 by user18
I misunderstood the purpose of the if statement, so I had been focusing on it in order to solve the issue with the repeating numbers. But after you explained it, I found the error elsewhere in my code. Thank you!!
  • user18
More
2 years 7 months ago #218660 by user18
Hi Tony,

Thank you for your help last month. I have a quick followup question. I have used this code several times in my survey and there is one section that I would like to change to allow the numbers to repeat. Is there a modification I can do to the original code to allow the numbers to repeat?
  • tpartner
More
2 years 7 months ago #218667 by tpartner