Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

How to generate different age groups in the tool?

• JinSakai
  • JinSakai's Avatar Topic Author
More
3 years 3 months ago #210089 by JinSakai
Hello dear Users,

I currently use LimeSurvey for the first time. I am a japanese student and I am doing a survey for research purposes.

I have created and already received a lot of data and I would like to analyse them.

Therefore I would like to generate age groups i.g. The people between 20-25 had those answers on question X, the people between 35-40 had those answers and so on.

My question in the survey is a Textfield: "How old are you?" and the people are allowed to answer with a number only.

So I have like 50 answers with answers from 20 to 60 years.
Is it possible to filter in limesurvey itself already for something?

I found following filter option before I download the statistic:

"Answers match with following expression": and there is a empty field where I am allowed to set a condition to filter after.

It works perfect to receive only the answers from the 20 years old people but I didnt found out how to create groups with it.

I have tried to set following expressions: 20 to 25 || 20-25 || from 20 to 25 but nothing worked... sadly.

Maybe someone can help.

Best regards

Jin
The topic has been locked.
  • Joffm
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
3 years 3 months ago #210090 by Joffm
Hi, Jin,

My question in the survey is a Textfield

I assume the question type is "numerical input".
And let's assume the code of the question is "Q1".

Then your relevance equations might be:
Q1.NAOK ge 20 AND Q1.NAOK le 25 -> 20-25
Q1.NAOK ge 26 AND Q1.NAOK le 35 -> 26-35

And to generate age groups you may create a hidden question (list(radio)) with the age groups ("Qagegroup")

1: younger than 20
2: 20-25
3: 26-35
4: 36-45
5: 46-55
6: 56 +