Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Generate random Code at End of 1st Survey - zufällig generierter Code

• Sandara
  • Sandara's Avatar Topic Author
More
1 year 2 months ago #239967 by Sandara
Please help us help you and fill where relevant:
Your LimeSurvey version: LimeSurvey Cloud, Version 5.6.3
Own server or LimeSurvey hosting: I think the latter
Survey theme/template: Default Survey Group
==================
I have a question, I am a complete newbie and want to know whether I can link two (very similar bot not completely identical) surveys (1st: baseline & 2nd: 3 months later). Is it possible to generate a random code (8 digits) at the end of the first survey that then serves as an identification for the 2nd survey (to be able to link the two datasets and compare them)?

And if yes, how do I do that? Is there any default option that I can choose? 

Thank you for your help!

GERMAN:
Ich habe eine Frage, ich bin ein absoluter Neuling und möchte wissen, ob ich zwei (sehr ähnliche, aber nicht völlig identische) Umfragen (1.: Baseline & 2.: drei Monate später) miteinander verknüpfen kann. Ist es möglich, einen Zufallscode (8 Ziffern) zu generieren, der dann als Identifikation für die 2. Erhebung dient (um die beiden Datensätze miteinander verknüpfen zu können)?

Und wenn ja, wie kann ich das tun? Gibt es eine Standardoption, die ich wählen kann? 

Danke für Eure Hilfe!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• holch
  • Away
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
1 year 2 months ago #239968 by holch
Well, this has been answered in the past here in the forum, there are quite a few examples of how to generate random codes, etc.

However, please keep in mind that random codes are a recepy for being forgotten. What do you want the random code to be used for? Should peole note it down and then put it into the next survey in 3 months? Good luck...