Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Fill dropdown list options with previous dropdown list answers

  • tpartner
  • tpartner's Avatar
  • Offline
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
3 years 8 months ago #204418 by tpartner
Can you activate a small test survey and give a link here so we can see what is affecting that?

Cheers,
Tony Partner

Solutions, code and workarounds presented in these forums are given without any warranty, implied or otherwise.
The topic has been locked.
  • FaLifeTime
  • FaLifeTime's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
3 years 8 months ago #204419 by FaLifeTime
The topic has been locked.
  • tpartner
  • tpartner's Avatar
  • Offline
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
3 years 8 months ago #204422 by tpartner
Can you disable AJAX in the survey theme options?

Cheers,
Tony Partner

Solutions, code and workarounds presented in these forums are given without any warranty, implied or otherwise.
The following user(s) said Thank You: FaLifeTime
The topic has been locked.
  • FaLifeTime
  • FaLifeTime's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
3 years 8 months ago #204428 by FaLifeTime
You are a genius. Thanks a lot. Now is working perfectly.

I have two last question related to the beginning of this post, questions 2) and 3). I'll repeat them just to make it more readable and luckly more clear (sorry if it's redundant). Also I'll share a limesurvey link with the situations and the lss export file.

2)I have a two columns Array(Texts) item (p001) where each option/cell it’s a dropdown list in order to normalize the inputs. There is only one option from the first column (SQ001) that if the user select it ( SQ001 = "No"), the corresponding value from the second column should automatically be an specific value (SQ002 = "No corresponde").

For example: Array(text) p001

Column 1 = SQ001 (dropdown list)
Op1: Yes
Op2: No
Column 2 = SQ002 (dropdown list)
Op1: Compartido
Op2: Personal
Op3: No corresponde

The third option Op3 ("No corresponde") should only automatically appears if Op2 ("No") in column 1(SQ001) is chosen.

I use a script for the dropdown list logic in the Array(texts) columns.
Code:
 
<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8">
 
  $(document).ready(function() {
 
    var qID = {QID};
 
    // Define the select element (dropdown)
    var select1 = '<select class="inserted-select form-control list-question-select">\
          <option value="">-- Elija por favor --</option>\
          <option value="si">Sí</option>\
          <option value="no">No</option>\
        </select>';
 
 
    // Hide the text inputs
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ001 input[type="text"]').hide();
 
    // Insert the select elements
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ001').append(select1);
 
    // Initially select an option if the question has already been answered
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ001 input[type="text"]').each(function(i){
      if($(this).val()) {
        $(this).closest('td').find('.inserted-select').val($(this).val());
      }
    });
 
    // Listener on the dropdowns - insert selected values into hidden text input
    $('.inserted-select').change(function() {
      $(this).closest('td').find('input[type="text"]').val($(this).val());
    });
 
    // Clean-up styles
    $('select.inserted-select', thisQuestion).css({
      'max-width': '100%'
    });
    $('input:text', thisQuestion).css({
      'position': 'absolute',
      'left': '-9999em'
    });    
 
  });
 
  $(document).ready(function() {
 
    var qID = {QID};
 
    // Define the select element (dropdown)
    var select1 = '<select class="inserted-select form-control list-question-select">\
          <option value="">-- Elija por favor --</option>\
          <option value="personal">Personal</option>\
          <option value="compartido">Compartido</option>\
          <option value="nocorresponde">No corresponde</option>\
        </select>';
 
    // Hide the text inputs
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ002 input[type="text"]').hide();
 
    // Insert the select elements
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ002').append(select1);
 
    // Initially select an option if the question has already been answered
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ002 input[type="text"]').each(function(i){
      if($(this).val()) {
        $(this).closest('td').find('.inserted-select').val($(this).val());
 
      }
    });
 
 
    // Listener on the dropdowns - insert selected values into hidden text input
    $('.inserted-select').change(function() {
      $(this).closest('td').find('input[type="text"]').val($(this).val());
 
 
    });
 
    // Clean-up styles
    $('select.inserted-select', thisQuestion).css({
      'max-width': '100%'
    });
    $('input:text', thisQuestion).css({
      'position': 'absolute',
      'left': '-9999em'
    });      
 
  });
 
</script>
 


3) In a group/section of questions I have a Multiple choice item (p002) where users have to pick one or more options.

Then, in the same group/section, users have to chose only one option among those were picked in p002. I thought about using a radio list item to solve this situation (p003) using the same logic Joffm suggested before (with an ecuation item). I don't know whether this is possible in the same section of question or should i divide them in two separated groups?

Link of the survey here .
The topic has been locked.
  • tpartner
  • tpartner's Avatar
  • Offline
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
3 years 8 months ago #204436 by tpartner
2) You have many redundancies in your script so it can be shortened considerably. To force the column-2 answer to "nocorresponde" if column-1 is "no", add the snippet under the comment "Listener on column-1 dropdowns handle the column-2 answer".

Code:
<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8">
 
  $(document).ready(function() {
 
    var qID = {QID};
 
    // Define the select elements (dropdown)
    var select1 = '<select class="inserted-select form-control list-question-select">\
          <option value="">-- Elija por favor --</option>\
          <option value="si">Sí</option>\
          <option value="no">No</option>\
        </select>';
    var select2 = '<select class="inserted-select form-control list-question-select">\
          <option value="">-- Elija por favor --</option>\
          <option value="personal">Personal</option>\
          <option value="compartido">Compartido</option>\
          <option value="nocorresponde">No corresponde</option>\
        </select>';
 
 
    // Hide the text inputs
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ001 input[type="text"], #question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ002 input[type="text"]').hide();
 
    // Insert the select elements
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ001').append(select1);
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ002').append(select2);
 
    // Initially select an option if the question has already been answered
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ001 input[type="text"], #question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ002 input[type="text"]').each(function(i){
      if($(this).val()) {
        $(this).closest('td').find('.inserted-select').val($(this).val());
      }
    });
 
    // Listener on the dropdowns to load selected values into the hidden text inputs
    $('#question'+qID+' .inserted-select').change(function() {
      $(this).closest('td').find('input[type="text"]').val($(this).val());
    });
 
    // Listener on column-1 dropdowns handle the column-2 answer
    $('#question'+qID+' .answer_cell_SQ001 .inserted-select').change(function() {
      if($(this).val() == 'no') {
        var thisRow=$(this).closest('tr');
        $('.answer_cell_SQ002 .inserted-select', thisRow).val('nocorresponde').trigger('change');
      }
    });
 
    // Clean-up styles
    $('#question'+qID+' select.inserted-select').css({
      'max-width': '100%'
    });
    $('#question'+qID+' input:text').css({
      'position': 'absolute',
      'left': '-9999em'
    });      
 
  });
 
</script>

3) Use the array filter feature - manual.limesurvey.org/Question_type_-_Li...r_.28array_filter.29

Sample survey attached:

File Attachment:

File Name: limesurvey...5(1).lss
File Size:29 KB

Cheers,
Tony Partner

Solutions, code and workarounds presented in these forums are given without any warranty, implied or otherwise.
The following user(s) said Thank You: FaLifeTime
The topic has been locked.
  • FaLifeTime
  • FaLifeTime's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
3 years 8 months ago #204445 by FaLifeTime
Works perfectly. Thanks. I'm getting this error when I try to recreate what Joffm told me: "The usual procedure by inserting a hidden question of type multiple, setting the necessary options by an equation and using this"

In my ecuation i try to insert 1000 rows like this

{m104_A1=if(p072=="A1" or p094=="A1" or p095=="A1" or p096=="A1" or p097=="A1" or p098=="A1" or p099=="A1" or p100=="A1,Y","")}

I got the following error:



I imagine that its been caused by the lenght of the text. Do know how can i fix this?

Thanks for all!
4aLifeTime
The topic has been locked.
  • tpartner
  • tpartner's Avatar
  • Offline
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
3 years 8 months ago #204450 by tpartner
You cannot, the error message says it all. You will have to come up with a workaround like using several questions.

Even if you did get that to work, I suspect it would be incredibly slow with Expression Manager processing that many OR statements.

Cheers,
Tony Partner

Solutions, code and workarounds presented in these forums are given without any warranty, implied or otherwise.
The topic has been locked.
  • FaLifeTime
  • FaLifeTime's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
3 years 8 months ago #204451 by FaLifeTime
I imagined that. Do you know whether there is an old post where I can have a clue how to fill a radio list or a dropdown list from others previous dropdown lists answered (in a previuos section of questions)?

So far, thanks for all the time u spent with my questions. I have solved a lot.
4aLifeTime
The topic has been locked.

Lime-years ahead

Online-surveys for every purse and purpose